Four Snellville Teachers are Gwinnett Teacher of the Year Semifinalists

Amber Russell, Debbie Taylor and Laura Moates Stanley are among the 26 teachers still in the running for the prestigious annual award.

Gwinnett County Public Schools (GCPS) recently announced the names of the semifinalists to be considered for the system’s top honor, the 2013 Teacher of the Year title. The group of 16 elementary, five middle, and five high school teachers was selected from the initial list of 131 local school Teachers of the Year who were nominated by their colleagues at their local schools. The 2013 Gwinnett County Teacher of the Year will be announced in November at the annual Teacher of the Year banquet.

This year’s Gwinnett County Teacher of the Year semifinalists by level are:

  • Amber Russell of Anderson-Livsey Elementary -- Gifted Education and Accelerated Mathematics Teacher (Grades 2-5)
  • Debbie Taylor of Brookwood Elementary -- Gifted Mathematics and Intervention Teacher (Grade 5)
  • Laura Moates Stanley of Brookwood High -- Band Teacher (Grades 9-12)
  • Debbie Grant of Maxwell High School of Technology -- Culinary Arts and Food Science Teacher (Grades 11 and 12)

A selection committee— made up of teachers, central office personnel, and administrators— will now consider the semifinalists’ applications and answers to a set of additional questions in order to determine the finalists. Committee members will then make site visits to the classrooms of the group of finalists and conduct thorough interviews with each educator.

During the classroom visit, the committee members will look for original teaching methods, study the teacher’s teaching philosophy, review special class projects the teacher has initiated, and consider the influence the teacher has had on the teaching practices of his/her colleagues. They also will review each teacher’s educational degrees and civic activities.

Based on their findings, committee members will select an elementary, middle, and a high school Teacher of the Year. They will be announced during the banquet. One of these three “level winners” will be named Gwinnett’s 2013 Teacher of the Year.

The annual Teacher of the Year banquet will be held Thursday, November 1, 2012, at the Gwinnett Center in Duluth. The celebration is possible thanks to the support of several area companies. Those sponsors include Coca Cola Refreshments; Emtec; EyeMed Vision Care; Georgia Power; Gwinnett County Public Schools Foundation, Fund Inc.; Gwinnett Federal Credit Union; Hayes Chrysler Dodge Jeep; Herff Jones; IBM; Kemper Select; Kroger; Lifetouch School Photography and Yearbooks; MedCom; MetLife; Mellon Global Securities Services; J. Smith Lanier; and VALIC.

Once named, the 2013 Gwinnett County Teacher of the Year will compete to become Georgia’s Teacher of the Year.

Beth Garvin October 14, 2012 at 12:04 PM
Eleanor Ridley, at Alton C. Crews Middle School is also a Teacher of the Year. I believe she teaches 6th Grade Social Studies.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »